Clinging to Memories

You know how most people say that moving on is good and you shouldn’t cling to past memories?

Well I don’t think that is reasonable to expect.

Clinging onto past memories doesn’t necessarily have to be a bad thing. It can be unhealthy if that’s all people focus on and there is no effort to keep going.

But if it’s done in conjunction with a healthy effort to continue your day-to-day life, there is nothing wrong with that. It might even propel you and encourage you to work harder to accomplish what you had before. For example, we shouldn’t disparage someone who uses the memories of being able to live comfortably before unemployment to work harder and regain that same standard of living.

I think holding onto memories is good. They are a part of life that cannot be changed, and we can cherish them and use them to make ourselves stronger for the future.

Daily Prompt: Cling

3 thoughts on “Clinging to Memories

  1. Naomi Byrnes says:

    I so agree! I find it just adds to my tension if I tell myself to ‘stop thinking about the past’. I like the approach taught in compassionate (‘nonviolent’ communication) which is to notice what feelings the memory is bringing to me right now and what needs it might be pointing me towards in this present moment. Have you heard of that approach?

    Like

Leave a Reply

